National Association of City and Town Sheriffs of England and Wales Cymdeithas Cenedlaethol Siryfion Dinas a Thref Lloegr a Cymru



Hon Life President Andrew Gravells Tel: 01452503974 Email: andrew.gravells@gloucestershire.gov.uk

> Chairman David Brown Tel: 01452 614209 Email: chairnactsew@gmail.com

Acting Hon Secretary: Jeanne Storrar Tel: 01244 880226 Email: secretarynactsew@gmail.com Hon Treasurer: Jan Lugg Tel: 01242 523648 Email: jclugg@msn.com

MINUTES OF 37TH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

HELD AT THE GUILDHALL/TOWN HALL MARYGATE, BERWICK-UPON-TWEED TD15 1BN @10.30 AM ON SATURDAY 24TH SEPTEMBER 2022

1. Welcome

Chairman David Brown welcomed everyone to the 37th AGM of the National Association of the City and Town Sheriffs of England and Wales in Berwick upon Tweed

"What a wonderful evening we shared last night, there was a buzz and an energy in the room, the perfect welcome to Berwick

"Eddie Mullins, the Sheriff of Berwick, will give the formal welcome to Berwick, but it is just over 2 weeks ago that we heard the dreadful news that HM Queen Elizabeth II had died, and I invite you to stand now for a one-minute silence before I continue our meeting"

2. President's Opening Remarks

Unfortunately Hon Life President Andrew Gravells was unable to be present due to illness but he had sent an address which was read out by the Chairman (full address in document attached)

3. Welcome from the Sheriff of Berwick-upon-Tweed

Sheriff Eddie Mullins said he was very honoured to be the Sheriff of Berwick and took pleasure in welcoming visitors for the weekend

4. Obituaries

The deaths were announced of:-

Berwick	James Armstrong
Berwick	John Raey
Haverfordwest	Chris Thomas
Lichfield	Terry Flynn
Lincoln	Peter Robinson
Lincoln	David Jackson

A one-minute silence followed

5. Apologies

Apologies were received from:-

Canterbury	Jennie Bukht, Jeanne Harrison, Colin Spooner
Carmarthen	Emlyn Schiavone
Chester	Hilarie McNae, John Butler, Jill Houlbrook, Jane Mercer, Eleanor Johnson
Gloucester	Life President Andrew Gravells
Lichfield	Kathryn Duncan Brown
Lincoln	Patrick Vaughan
Newcastle	Diane Packham, Karen Robinson
Poole	Christopher Bulteel, Mike Brooke
York	John Kenny

6. Introduction of new Sheriffs

All Sheriffs present introduced themselves as follows:

Berwick	Eddie Mullins
Canterbury	Louise Harvey-Quirke
Chester	Bob Rudd
Gloucester	Joanne Brown
Lichfield	Janice Greaves
Lincoln	Jasmit Phull
Norwich	Caroline Jarrold
Southampton	Valerie Laurent
York	Suzie Mercer

7. Minutes of AGM 2021 Chester

Agreed as a true record after amendment to Obituaries - Jill Brown of York should read Jill Bright

8. Chairman's Report

Chairman David Brown delivered his report for the year 2022/23 (full report in document attached)

9. Treasurer's Report

Treasurer Jan Lugg gave her report as:Account No. $\underline{11366777}$ Balance at $01.09.2021 = \pounds 2,411.95$
Balance at $20.09.2022 = \pounds 2,412.96$
Interest for the year = $\pounds 1.01$ Account No. $\underline{11366769}$ Balance at $20.09.2022 = \pounds 7,897.97$ Cheques written = \pounds 4600 for DinnersConference Fees = \pounds 2815
Late Fees/Dinners = $\pounds 260$ Balance = $\pounds 222.97$ (1 late cheque = $\pounds 135 + 1$ local authority payment due $\pounds 135$)Balance will be = $\pounds 492.97$ in credit

10. Election of Officers

a) Vice Chairman – There were two nominations - Ashley Mason proposed by John Ebo, and Andrew Swinburne

Following a paper ballot, Andrew Swinburne was elected Vice Chairman

b) Treasurer – Jan Lugg was proposed by David Brown and seconded by Chris Higgins. There being no other nominations, Jan Lugg was elected Treasurer

c) Secretary – Jeanne Storrar was proposed by Chris Higgins and seconded by David Brown There being no other nominations, Jeanne Storrar was elected Secretary

11. Election of Committee Members

- 1. Norwich Chris Higgins and Beryl Blower
- 2. Haverfordwest tba
- 3. Lichfield Robert Yardling

12. Appointment of Auditor - Myles Hogg (Chester) agreed to continue

13. Future Venues

2023 Norwich 2024 Haverfordwest (40 years) 2025 Lichfield 2026 Lincoln 2027 Newcastle

<u>**14. Website**</u> – Xena Dion spoke about her work on the NACTSEW website which she said should be dynamic, and asked members to contribute (sheriffsofenglandandwales.com). Xena was thanked for producing such an excellent website

15. Funding of AGM weekends was discussed and suggestions taken from the floor. It was agreed that the conference fee will vary in each City or Town, but that NACTSEW should be all inclusive

<u>16. Membership Fees</u> – it was agreed that the annual fee should rise to £10 per annum with £5 payable by Consorts/Associate Members

17. Constitution

Xena Dion proposed amendments to the Constitution as follows:-

That paragraph c) read "Membership shall be open to any Sheriff or past Sheriff of Cities and Towns in England and Wales and to their current or past consorts"

Also :- "Associate Membership be offered to any person who requests membership and who has some knowledge and/or association with NACTSEW, and whose request is supported by at least two of its full members"

These proposals were discussed by members at length and it was decided that the proposals should be raised at the next AGM with due notice as required by the Constitution

18. A.O.B. Berwick was again thanked for a very enjoyable reception the previous evening