# National Association of City and Town Sheriffs of England and Wales Cymdeithas Cenedlaethol Siryfion Dinas a Thref Lloegr a Cymru



#### Hon Life President Andrew Gravells

Telephone: 01452 503974 Email: andrew.gravells@gloucestershire.gov.uk

Treasurer Chairman Acting Secretary

Jan Lugg David Brown Jeanne Storrar

Telephone 01452 614209

2 Unwin Close The Reddings Cheltenham GL51 6PF

ngs <u>chairnactsew@gmail.com</u> m Telephone 01244 880226 secretarynactsew@gmail.com

Telephone:01242523648 Email: <u>jclugg@msn.com</u>

#### **DRAFT**

## MINUTES OF THE 38TH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD AT CITY HALL, ST PETER'S STREET, NORWICH ON SATURDAY 30th SEPTEMBER 2023

#### 1. Welcome from the Chair

David Brown welcomed everyone to the meeting, mentioning that he had had time to look around the very pleasant city of Norwich

## 2. President's Opening Remarks

Andrew Gravells spoke about all the complimentary remarks he had received about the Berwick-upon-Tweed weekend in 2022. He had been unable to attend due to illness, but was sorry that he had missed the weekend as a result. He was looking forward to the weekend in Norwich.

## 3. Welcome from the Sheriff of Norwich

Dr Jan Sheldon welcomed everyone to Norwich and hoped we would all enjoy the weekend.

#### 4. Obituaries

Nigel Hanman Gloucester Maureen Bailey Sheriffs Lady 1983 Lichfield Dave Jackson; Frank Connell Lincoln Les Burden Poole One-Minutes Silence was held.

## 5. Apologies

Berwick Jim Smith; David Wilson; Eddie Mullins

Canterbury Colin Spooner; Richard Parkinson, Anne Dekker: Louise

Harvey-Quirke

Carmarthen Heledd Ap Gwynfor (Sheriff); Richard Goodridge

Chester Myles Hogg; Alex Black; Elizabeth Bolton; Andrew and

Jeanne Storrar

Gloucester Chris Witts; Collette Finnegan

Lichfield Bob Awty; Nock Sedgwick; Katherine Duncan-Brown;

Doris English

Lincoln Patrick Vaughan; David Gratrick; Graham Kent; Jaswan

Phull; Hilary Willerton

Newcastle Maureen Lowson (Sheriff)

Poole Peter Miles (Sheriff); Xena Dion; Chris Bulteel

Southampton Valerie Laurent; Carol Cunio

York Sue Hunter (Sheriff); Barrie Ferguson

#### 6. Introduction of New Sheriffs

The following Sheriffs were present and introduced themselves:-

Norwich Dr Jan Sheldon Berwick David Gordon Canterbury Tom Mellish Chester Hugo Deynem Gloucester Justin Hudson

Lichfield Adam Burns-Mace

Lincoln Neil Murray

## 7. Minutes of 2022 AGM Berwick-upon-Tweed

Corrections were as follows:

Para 4 Obituaries

Berwick John Raey should be spelt John Reay

Lichfield Terry Flynn is still alive

Para 5 Apologies

Should include Ian Malcolm of Nottingham

Para 11 Election of Committee Members

Item 3. Lichfield - should read Robert Yardley

With these Corrections the minutes were agreed.

## 8. Chairman's Report

David Brown reminded the meeting that the 40th Anniversary of the Association will fall in Lichfield's year in 2 years' time. The Association could reissue the 30th Anniversary Booklet updated - each city/town could add an update to provide a 40th Anniversary Booklet. David had been very impressed by the Sheriff's Ride in Lichfield. Darryl Brown of Lichfield reported that this historical event had been under threat but the community demanded its continuation.

(A full transcript of the Chair's Report can be found on the NACTSEW Website)

## 9. Treasurer's Report

Jan Lugg reported that, at the time of the meeting, the finances stood as below:-

Deposit Account Number 11366777	
Balance at 1st September 2022	£2412.96
Balance at 1st September 2023	£2439.24
Ordinary Account Number 11366769	
Balance at 1st December 2022	£ 514.36
Membership fees received	£ 830.00
Conference Fees received after Cancellations	£8700.00
Conference Fees due from Civic	
Offices	£ 300.00
Outgoings:	
127 x £75 Conference Fees	£9525.00

## 10. Election of Officers

## a) Vice-Chairman

Andy Swinburne was proposed by Jan Lugg and seconded by Chris Higgins. There were no other nominations and Andy Swinburne was duly re-elected as Vice-Chair.

## b) Treasurer

Jan Lugg was proposed by David Brown and seconded by Andrew Gravells. There were no other nominations and Jan Lugg was duly reelected as Treasurer.

## c) Secretary

As the role of Secretary was currently undertaken by an Associate Member, this nomination was held over until after the discussion over the Constitution at Agenda Item 16.

There were no nominations from the floor and the current Secretary was willing to serve another year if no-one else wanted to take on the role.

#### 11. Election of Committee Members

## 1) Haverfordwest

There being no members attending from Haverfordwest, the officers will contact the civic offices in Haverfordwest.

## 2) Lichfield

Robert Yardley and Darryl Brown were nominated by Lichfield to serve on the Committee.

## 12. Appointment of Auditors

Myles Hogg of Chester had offered to act as Auditor and was duly re-appointed.

## 13. Future Venues (and provisional dates)

2024 Haverfordwest (40th AGM)	27th -29th September
2025 Lichfield (40th Anniversary Of the Association)	26th -28th September
2026 Lincoln	25th -27th September
2027 Newcastle	24th -26th September

### 14. Website

Unfortunately Xena Dion was unable to attend the weekend due to family illness.

David Brown recorded the Association's thanks to Xena for managing the Website so well.

## 15. Funding of AGM Weekends

This item has been on the Agenda for some years but funding has not been a problem due to the enthusiastic attendance by the Association Members.

# (At this point the new Sheriffs and the President left the AGM to attend another meeting)

### 16 .Constitution - Amendments

Five Amendments had been formally proposed in the correct time-scale by Xena Dion (Poole) who unfortunately was unable to attend the AGM due to family illness. The Amendments were seconded by Chris Higgins (Norwich).

#### **Amendment 1**

That throughout the written Constitution the term 'Chairman' and 'Vice-Chairman' be changed to 'Chair' and 'Vice-Chair' and any references to 'he' or 'his' be changed to 'they' or 'their' (as per the proposed revised Constitution, as circulated)

This Amendment was **CARRIED** by 24 votes for versus 18 votes against.

#### **Amendment 2**

Under Paragraph C be added

(ii) Associate Membership be open to any Sheriff's or past Sheriff's Consort of cities and towns in England and Wales.

This Amendment was **CARRIED** by 41 votes for and 1 vote against.

### **Amendment 3**

And, also under Paragraph C, be added:

(iii) Associate membership be open to any person who requests such membership, who has some knowledge and association with NACTSEW and whose request is supported by at least two of its full Members.

This Amendment was **REJECTED** after it was pointed out that, if the Membership increased by other than appointed Sheriffs, then the AGM host town/city may not have a venue large enough to host the various events of the Annual Weekend. The vote against was unanimous.

#### **Amendment 4**

Under Paragraph E the following amendment be added

- (i) At each AGM the Association shall appoint from among its members the following officers:
- 1. A Chair (a 3 year Term)
- 2. A Vice-Chair
- 3. An Honorary Secretary
- 4. An Honorary Treasurer
- (ii) The positions of Honorary Secretary and Honorary Treasurer may be held by an Associate Member.

This Amendment was **CARRIED** unanimously

#### **Amendment 5**

Under paragraph D be added:

(ix) All Members may vote at Meetings of the Association. Associate Members who hold the Office of Honorary Secretary or Honorary Treasurer may vote as a full Member.

This Amendment was **CARRIED** unanimously.

#### 17. A.O.B.

- a) It was reported that Lichfield may have funding issues, being a Parish Council within a Local Authority in spite of containing a Cathedral.
- **b)** Ashley Mason (York) offered assistance if required with governance.